ALS Update

August 7, 2009 at 8:02 1 comment

My breathing capacity was 96% six months ago, three months ago it was 80% and just recently my breathing was measure at 65%.  My diaphragm is being affected.  At 50% they will put me on an external ventilation machine much like the kind for people with sleeping problems.   It will be used when I am sleeping.  When my breathing capacity dips even lower they will put me on a respirator and its hose will be placed into my trachea.  This respirator will be used 24/7.

Coughing is just being affected recently although I am coughing 95% of the time normally.  As my diaphragm  weakens I will not be able to get enough pressure behind a cough to get anything out of my throat.  When I can no longer cough out things in my throat on my own we will rent a coughing machine.  Consequently mucous, the common cold or the flue could be hazardous to my health.

My speech has deteriorated so much Debbie is having a hard time understanding me.  I need to use my talking box which I detest because it is much slow than speaking and when using it I want to just be quiet because I cannot keep up with the conversation.  By the time I finish typing the conversation has moved to another topic as conversations go.  I get so frustrated to the point of anger and anger can only be toward my Father in Heaven.  Forgive me Pa Pa and please make me more patient.

Entry filed under: Paul Trask's Life.

Forgiveness ALS Nagging Problems

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. martha  |  August 12, 2009 at 8:02

    Thanks for the update. You remain in my prayers. Keep the updates coming. Praying you will sense the joy, hope, peace and strength of God’s Ever-Presence with you each and every step of this journey. As terrifying as the statistics sound, there really is no better place to be than in the center of God’s Will: where there beats for us a heart so full of profound love and rich mercy, where there is a glorious plan to give us “hope and a future.”
    Praying too for healing and a remarkable triumph over this wretched disease.
    Standing with you in prayer.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed