Forgiveness

August 5, 2009 at 8:02 Leave a comment

Sometimes abused adults cannot forgive their fathers or mothers for their abusing them.  It takes time for the Gospel to heal people, until they can forgive their parents.  However, eventually we need to forgive them.

At one time I was motivated out of fear and when I was offended I would use gossip to destroy that person.  I had many grudges against many people and my life was misserable.  I was anxious, lustful, fearful, and out of control emotionally.  Not forgiving people made my Christian life the most miserable life possible, until the Lord showed how much he loved me and showed me how much I was forgiven.  Then and only then could I forgive people some of whom I had held grudges against for over thirty years.

I have run into Christian a lot of other people with grudges against other Christians, unbelievers, friends, or family members.  A Christian needs to forgive anyone who has harmed them or offended them because Christ has forgiven them of all their sins.  He demands it. 

Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.  Ephesians 4:32  

Bear with each other and forgive what ever grievances you may have against one another.  Forgive as the Lord forgave you.  And over all these virtues put on love which binds them together in perfect untiy.  Colossians 3:13-14

Therefore, if you are offering your gift at the altar and there remember that your brother has something against you leave your gift there in front of the altar.  First go and be reonciled to your brother; then come and offer your gift.  Settle matters quickly with your adversary who is taking you to court.  Do it while your are still with him on the way, or he may hand you over to the judge, an the judge may hand you over to the officer, and you may be thrown into prison.  Matthew 5: 23-26

For if you forgive men when they sin against you, your heavenly father will also forgive your sins.  But if you do not forgive men their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.  Matthew 6:14-15

“Then Peter came to Jesus and asked, ‘Lord, how many times shall I forgive my brother when he sins against me?’  ‘Up to seven times?’  Jesus answered, ‘I tell you, not seven times, but seventy-seven times.’ 

Therefore, the kingdom of heaven is like a king who wanted to settle accounts with his servants.  As he began the settlement, a man who owed him ten thousand talents (or $307,500,000,000.00) was brought before him.  Since he was not able to pay, the master ordered that he and his wife and children and all that he had be sold to repay the debt.  The servant fell on his knees  before him.  ‘Be patient with me, he begged, and I will repay back everything.’  The servant’s master took pity on him, canceled the debt and let him go.   

But when that servant went out, he found one of his fellow servants who owed him a hundred denarii (or $20.00).  he grabbed him and began to choke him.  ‘Pay back what you owe me! ‘ He demanded.  His fellow servant fell to his knees and begged him, ‘Be patient with me, and I will pay you back.’  But he refused.  Instead, he went off and had the man thrown into prison until he could pay off the dept.  When the other servants saw what had happened, they were greatly distressed and went  and told their master everything that had happened.  Then the master called the servant in.  ‘You wicked servant, he said, ‘I canceled all that debt of yours because you begged me to.  Shouldn’t you have had mercy on your fellow servant just as I had on you?’  In anger his master turned him over to the jailers to be tortured, until he should pay back all he owed.  This is how my heavenly Father will treat each of you unless you forgive your brother from your heart. ”  Matthew 18:22-35

I had a grudge toward two people for over two years and most of the time I was asking God to help me to forgive them and eventually he answered me and set me free.  We Christians have no right to withhold forgiveness from anyone who is a Christian or nonChristian or a friend or enemy.  If we do hold on to it we will ruin our Christian lives until we do. Quick forgiveness from the heart is a key Christian virtue.

Entry filed under: Grace.

Kid’s Fest ALS Update

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



