God is in control

March 28, 2011 at 8:02 3 comments

Both of my parents were ADHD and my sister Cheryl and I also had ADHD.  Sherry got married to Rick DeJung in 1971 when I was 10.  My father never hugged me or kissed me after I passed two years old.  He was frequently angry with me.  My father tried to beat ADHD out of me.   Beatings wasn’t so bad but his words criticized and judged me when goofed up.   I leaned on my fathers car looking at what he was doing with the engine.  He yelled at me because my belt buckle might have scratch his car and he slapped me.  As I got older I started to calm down and got along with my father for the most part.  His parents showed no love toward their 12 children.  When father was 17 he went to war and his first battle was on June 6, 1944.  When he got home he was an angry man, he was dating mom when he saw a man grab her, father almost that took that mans life.   I became a Christian when I was 13 and m faith became tension between my parents and I.  When I was 18 I went to Geneva College. My first two years I was emotional, anxious, fearful of people, and when I was a junior anger started to come out me.

Debbie and I got married in April 21, 1984. Three years later we gave birth to our daughter Abby, 18 months later we had Erin.  We were members of Glen Burnie Evangelical Church and we worshipped  there for several years.  Then we moved to Westminster in Carroll County.  That is when I started to fall apart emotionally.  I was eating with my family and started crying out of control and I did not know what was happening to me.  Five Christian Counselors and 15 years later Christ reach out to me and he changed my life.  During this time God brought through many painful emotional experiences taking the pain from me.  Emma and Noah where born around this time.  I trust my Lord with my life as ALS is taking my life away.   I am in the middle of my Fathers His hands and thats where I should be.  (Hebrews 13:5-6; Romans 8:37-39)


Entry filed under: Calvinism, Grace, Jesus Christ, Paul Trask's Life, Reformed, The Christian Life.

The Church Church

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carol Noren Johnson  |  March 28, 2011 at 8:02

    God has had His mighty arms around you when no earthly father has. Love your testimony, Paul!

    Reply
  • 2. Judy Casper  |  March 28, 2011 at 8:02

    Thanks Paul.

    Reply
  • 3. Martha  |  March 29, 2011 at 8:02

    Constantly praying that God will continue to reveal Himself to you in “great and mighty ways you do not know” so His honor may be seen in you in increasing measures. It is clear that the Divine Alchemy has been at work in you turning the ashes of your past into radiant King’s Gold. Here we raise our Ebenezer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



