ALS Update

December 7, 2010 at 8:02 4 comments

You may recognize I am walking slowly.  I drag my right foot and I can’t lift my left very far as well.  My breathing capacity when I am sitting still I am out of breath.   My right hand can no longer button my left sleeve and when I am shaving I use both hands independently, I brush my teeth weak both of my hands on the toothbrush.  After eating if bend over my meal comes up and chokes me.   My arms and hands are much weaker since I was Hershey Medical Center.  My children help me more often and Deb has to do more for me.  Emma and Noah help me stretch my muscles.  I am in my Father’s hands thats where I want to be.

I have been thinking about the resurrection often.  If you are afraid of death read this passage and the passage in Corinthians.  When we die our spirits join the kingdom of our Lord and King.  At the resurrection when Christ returns the dead shall rise first then the living.  Our bodies will be transformed into an immortal bodies, we are given a new name given to us before God created the universe, and we will  speak the same language or we speak every language.  Read Isaiah 35 and Revelations 21-22 to see what the Spirit of Christ will transform the earth for us.  We are his heritance and He is ours.

13 Brothers and sisters, we do not want you to be uninformed about those who sleep in death, so that you do not grieve like the rest of mankind, who have no hope. 14 For we believe that Jesus died and rose again, and so we believe that God will bring with Jesus those who have fallen asleep in him. 15 According to the Lord’s word, we tell you that we who are still alive, who are left until the coming of the Lord, will certainly not precede those who have fallen asleep. 16 For the Lord himself will come down from heaven, with a loud command, with the voice of the archangel and with the trumpet call of God, and the dead in Christ will rise first. 17 After that, we who are still alive and are left will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And so we will be with the Lord forever. 18 Therefore encourage one another with these words.


Entry filed under: Grace, Paul Trask's Life, The Christian Life.

Pearl Harbor Day Eagle Scout

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Martha  |  December 7, 2010 at 8:02

    You and your family remain in our prayers. What hope we have that while our outward man wastes away, our inner man is being renewed day by day. Praying the reality of this precious promise sustains you and your family through this journey of shifting shadows. Praying His love, mercy, grace, faithfulness and peace uphold you each and all every step of the way as you press on to Higher Ground.

    Though these words were penned in 1898, they are every bit as precious and true today, and they remind us we are surrounded by a great cloud of witnesses as we run this race to “Higher Ground.”

    “I’m pressing on the upward way,
    New heights I’m gaining every day;
    Still praying as I’m onward bound,
    “Lord, plant my feet on higher ground.”
    Refrain:
    Lord, lift me up and let me stand,
    By faith, on Heaven’s tableland,
    A higher plane than I have found;
    Lord, plant my feet on higher ground.

    My heart has no desire to stay
    Where doubts arise and fears dismay;
    Though some may dwell where those abound,
    My prayer, my aim, is higher ground.

    I want to live above the world,
    Though Satan’s darts at me are hurled;
    For faith has caught the joyful sound,
    The song of saints on higher ground.

    I want to scale the utmost height
    And catch a gleam of glory bright;
    But still I’ll pray till heav’n I’ve found,
    “Lord, plant my feet on higher ground.”

    by Johnson Oatman Jr.

    Reply
    • 2. traskman  |  December 8, 2010 at 8:02

      Thats a beautful hymn. I have never heard or sung this hymn.

      Reply
  • 3. Carol Noren Johnson  |  December 7, 2010 at 8:02

    Martha, what a wonderful hymn to post. !
    Paul, if I would put hymn lyrics here it would be to the hymn “It Is Well With My Soul”. I love the Lord in you.

    Reply
  • 4. paulmerrill  |  December 12, 2010 at 8:02

    Hello Paul – from another Paul.

    In one of those God things, I found you through your Christian comment on Plinky. I was having a discussion with fellow believers about Plinky – and how believers need to be on there more – and then I found your comment! Bless you for being salt & light there.

    And may God give you grace with ALS. It sounds like He is using that to bring you closer to Himself, though the path is very difficult.

    Be blessed – in merciful ways.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



