The Sovereignty of God

September 29, 2010 at 8:02 2 comments

I do not understand why Christian people do not think that God brings storms and sunny skies.

God is sovereign over all things including people.  Lets talk about suffering.  In Job his suffering was used to glory his name and to teach Job humility.  Job responded with to him with repentance.

Then Job answered the Lord:

“I know that you can do all things,

no plan of yours can be thwarted.

You asked, ‘Who is this that obscures my

counsel without knowledge?

Surely I spoke of things I did not understand,

things too wonderful for me to know.

Job 42:1-6 (NiV)

God is controls of the weather.

The Lord does whatever pleases him,

in heavens and on the earth,

in the seas and all their depths.

He makes clouds rise from the end of the earth;

he sends lightning with the rain

and brings out the wind from his storehouses.

Psalm 135:6-7 (NIV)

He sends his command to the earth;

his word runs swiftly.

He spreads the snow like wool

and scatters the frost like ashes.

He hurls down his hail like pebbles.

Who can withstand his icy blast?

He sends his word and melts them;

he stirs up his breezes, and the waters flow.

Psalm 147:15-18 (NIV)

God controls history.

The Lord has sworn:

“As I have planned,

so shall it be,

and as I have purposed,

so shall it stand,

that I will break the Assyrian in my land,

and on my mountain trample him underfoot;

and his yoke shall depart from them,

and his burden from their shoulder.”

This is the purpose that is purposed

concerning the whole earth,

and this is the hand that is stretched out

over all the nations.

“For the Lord of hosts has purposed,

and who will annul it?

His hand is stretched out,

and who will turn it back?

Isaiah 14:24-27 (NIV)

The anger of the Lord will not turn back

until he has executed and accomplished

the intents of his heart.

In the latter days you will understand it clearly.

Jeremiah 23:20 (NIV)

The Lord foils the plans of the nations;

he thwarts the purposes of the peoples.

But the plans of the Lord stand firm forever,

the purpose of his heart through all generations.

Psalm 33:10-11 (NIV)

Why do the nations conspire

and the peoples plot in vain?

The kings of the earth take their stand

and rulers gather together against the Lord

and against his Anointed One.

“Let us break their chains,” they say,

“and throw off their fetters.”

The One enthroned in heaven laughs;

The Lord scoffs at them.

Then he rebukes them in his anger

And terrifies them in his wrath saying,

“I have installed my King on Zion, my holy hill.”

I will proclaim the decree of the Lord:

He said to me, “You are my Son,

today I have become your Father.

Ask of me,

and I will make the nations your inheritance,

the ends of the earth your possession.

You will rule them with and iron scepter;

You will dash them to pieces like pottery.”

Therefore, you kings, be wise;

be warned, you rulers of he earth.

Serve the Lord with fear and rejoice with trembling.

Kiss the Son, lest he be angry

and you be destroyed in your way,

for his wrath can flare up in a moment.

Blessed are all who take refuge in him.

Psalm 2

This the plan determined

for the whole world

this is the hand stretched

out over all the nations.

For the Lord Almighty has

purposed and who can

thwart him?

His hand is stretched out,

and who can turn it

back

Isaiah 14:26-27  (NIV)

God controls humans.

The Lord brings death and

makes alive;

he brings down to the

grave and raises up.

The Lord sends poverty

and wealth;

he humbles and he exalts.

I Samuel 2:6-7 (NIV)

See now that I myself am he!

there is no god besides me.

I put to death and I bring to life,

I wound and I will heal,

And no one can deliver out of my hand.

Deuteronomy 32:39 (NIV)

If the Lord delights in a

mans way,

he makes his steps firm;

though he stumbles, he will

not fall

for the Lord uphold his hand.

Psalm 37:23-24 (NIV)
For you created my inmost being:

I praise you knit me together in my mother’s womb,

because I‘m fearfully and wonderfully made,

Your works are wonderful,

I know that full well.

My frame was not hidden from you

when I was made in the hidden place.

When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,

your eyes you saw my unformed body.

All the days ordained for me

were written in your book

before one them came to be.

Psalms 119:13-16

God controls human decisions.


In his heart a man plans his course,

But the Lord determines his steps.

Proverbs 16:9

Many are the plans in a man’s heart,

But it is the Lord’s purpose that prevails.

Proverbs 19:21

The Lord made his people very fruitful;

he made them too numerous fro their foes,

whose hearts he turned to hate his people,

to conspire against his servants.

Psalm 105:24

Go and tell this people:

“Be ever hearing, but never understanding;

be ever seeing, but never  perceiving.”

Make the heart of this people calloused;

Make their ears dull

And close their eyes.

Otherwise they might see with eyes,

Hear with their ears,

Understand with their hearts,

And turn and be healed.

Isaiah 6:9-10

Why, O Lord, do you make u s wander from your ways

And harden our hearts so we do not revere you?

Isaiah 63:17

What Israel sought earnestly it did not obtain, but the elect did.

The others were hardened, as it is written:

“God gave them a spirit of stupor,

eyes so that could not see

and ears so that they could not hear, to this very day.

Romans11:7-8

The Lord works out everything for his own ends—

even the wicked for the day of disaster.

Proverbs 16:4

Faith and Salvation

Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us in the heavenly realms with every blessing in Christ.  For he chose us in him before the creation of the world to be holy and blameless in his sight.  In love he predestined us to be adopted as his sons through Jesus Christ as his sons through Jesus Christ, in accordance with his pleasure and will—to praise of his glorious grace, which has freely given to us in the he One believes.  In him we have redemption through his blood, the forgiveness of our sins, in accordance with the riches of God’s grace that he lavished on us with all wisdom and understanding.  And be made know to us the mystery of will according to his good pleasure, which purposed in Christ, to be put into effect when times had will have reached their fulfillment—to bring all things I heaven and earth together under on head, even Christ.

Ephesians 1:3-10

For we are God’s workmanship, created Christ Jesus to do good works , which God prepared in advance for us to do.

Ephesians 2:10

No good tree bears bad fruit, nor does a bad tree bear good fruit.  Each tree is recognized by its own fruit.  People do not pick figs from thorn-bushes, or grapes from briers. The good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and the evil man brings evils out of the evil stored up in his heart.   For out of the overflow of his heart his mouth speaks.

Luke 6:43-45 (NIV)

This man wash handed over to you by God’s set purpose and foreknowledge; and you, with the help of wicked men, put him to death by nailing him to a cross.  But God raised him raised him from the dead and, freeing him from the agony of death, because it was impossible for death to keep its hold on him.


Acts 2:23-24

For seven days they celebrated with joy the Feast of Unleavended Bread, because the Lord had filled them with joy by changing the attitude of the king of Assyria, so that he assisted them in their work on the house of God, the God of Israel.

Ezra 6:22-23

Scriptures teaches directly that God brings about our free decisions.

Entry filed under: Grace.

The Legend of the Guardians The Righteousnes of God

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Martha  |  September 29, 2010 at 8:02

    I think about how I, as a parent, discipline my children. It’s unfortunate that people associate the word “discipline” with “punishment.” But discipline is “training,” “instruction,” “learning.” Parents teach or discipline their children (if they truly love them!) every day: through their words, example, actions, and reactions. Sometimes the discipline of my children seems harsh to them. Seeing one of my children starting to step off the curb into oncoming traffic, the only thing I could reach immediately — since she was not stopping at my command — was her ponytail. I NEVER pull hair as a punishment, but this time, to teach her to hear my voice and to keep her from imminent danger, I grabbed her ponytail. She wasn’t very happy about that, and then the car whizzed by. God at times uses unpleasant, difficult, and seemingly harsh treatments to rescue us from our own demise, to bring us to a safe place, and we turn and accuse Him of “pulling our ponytails.” When each of my children was in swimming lessons, there were times they wanted out of the pool. I could have allowed that. But they wouldn’t have learned to swim if I let them only splash about in the shallow end. I don’t know about you, but I love the deep end: swimming, jumping in, touching the bottom way down and pushing off to spring for the surface. It’s the same way with GRACE. I don’t want to splash about in the shallow end of grace, I want to experience it ALL!! But sometimes, getting there looks like abandonment, like punishment, like cruelty. As long as my children were safe, I let them accuse me, because I KNEW that the end would be far better than the present difficulties. God KNOWS the end is far better than the present difficulties we face, and He allows them for our absolute good! Praise Him that He is constantly preparing us for the Deep End of Grace!

    Reply
    • 2. traskman  |  September 30, 2010 at 8:02

      Well said, sister!

      I really appricate your friendship we shared things with each other we rarely shared with anyone else. We prayed together, walk together and ate together. I had no romantic notions toward at all you we just became good friends. Thank you.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



