Defending the Widow, Orphan and the Opressed

August 9, 2010 at 8:02 1 comment

In the Bible people always comes before anything else.  In Micah 6:8 He has showed you, O man, what is good.  And what does the Lord require of you?  To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God. (NIV)

Justice and Mercy run through the Bible in thousands of verses.  The men on crosses on both sides Jesus Messiah when he was crucified were receiving Justice but Jesus showed one of them Mercy.   We want justice when we see someone mistreated but rarely seek mercy for the perpetrator although we ourselves are perpetrators ourselves.  We do not understand how wicked we really are and how odious our sins are to our God.  Paul, in Romans 7:24 he says: What a wretched man I am! Who will rescue me from this body of death?  Thanks to be to God–through Jesus Christ our Lord! Paul knew he deserved God’s justice but Jesus the Messiah stood in the Gap between his Father and him quelling his anger against Paul and now the Father is pleased with Paul he is bearing the righteousness of Jesus Messiah.  This is called double imputation.  When the Father crushed Jesus on cross and abandoned him because he bore our sins upon him, his blood satisfied God’s justice but he also gave us his righteousness.

This is only way to live confidently in this world to help people grow or help a homeless addict.  Our salvation is of all of Grace and we have nothing to do to with it.   I stopped trying keeping the law and began to repenting & believing and the Holy Spirit has been changing me throughout my life giving me his fruit where there is no law. He has given me a clear conscious, peace and joy.

We need to depend on Messiah living in us to minister to others and act on behalf of people. I have been crucified with Messiah and I no longer live, but Messiah lives in me.  The life I live in body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. In Galatians 6:20 (NIV) this is only way we gain the confidence to defend the oppressed, the widow and the orphan.  We need a deep sense of gratitude to God what he done for us before we can help people.  However, personal growth depends on living in a community we cannot do it alone.  If we are in agreement to help the poor and stand for justice and show mercy toward men people will know we children of our Father.

Entry filed under: Grace.

ALS Update ALS Update

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Carol Noren Johnson  |  August 10, 2010 at 8:02

    Anything we do it now is for His glory. I used to be the humanitarian and wanted people to notice. But I had to get off of that treadmill and do all (helping the widows, the orphans, the oppressed) for His glory.

    With my husband’s illness I have also had to learn to accept help for others who do it for His glory.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



