ALS Update

July 23, 2010 at 8:02 6 comments

Debbie and I arrived at GBMC  at 9:30 AM for a 10:00 AM surgery to have my feeding tube removed and to put in a new one.  We had to wait around because my surgeon was an hour late because of an emergency.  We like our surgeon from Johns Hopkins Dr. Kaffonek who operates at GBMC and at Hopkins.  The anesthesiologist put me to sleep with with some kind of drug and oxygen was going into my nose.  Dr. Kaffonek went to work taking out the feeding tube that was over a foot long out and put a new in called a “button.”  A tube is inserted into white circle in middle of the button and with a 3/4 turn and its locked into place then Debbie can feed me Nutren it’s a high protein drink with other nutrients.  I am allergic to all white tapes and I am glad I don’t to use them anymore.  They my eat skin away including BanAids.  However, Curad paper tape irritates me the least.

Entry filed under: Paul Trask's Life.

Pray with Your Eyes Open Where is My God

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carol Noren Johnson  |  July 23, 2010 at 8:02

    Are you able to use it now Thursday night? Are you staying at the hospital over night? Praying.

    Reply
    • 2. traskman  |  July 23, 2010 at 8:02

      We were able to use it right away. It was an out patient procedure. Later in day at home Debbie used the button to feed me Nutren a high protein drink with other nutrients for dinner. All white tape irritates my skin including BanAids. They are corrosive to my skin. However, Curad paper tape is the least offensive.

      Reply
  • 3. Martha  |  July 23, 2010 at 8:02

    That is awesome! Looks way more comfortable than the protruding tube that required tape (I’m like you: allergic to all tape which leaves burn marks and eats away my skin). Praying for you each step of the way. Thanks for the updates, keep ’em coming.
    “The Lord bless you and keep you. The Lord make His face to shine upon you and be gracious to you. The Lord lift up His countenance upon you and give you peace.”

    Reply
  • 4. Dick  |  July 24, 2010 at 8:02

    Paul, may the Lord continue to guide and strengthen you. May the new button work well for you and your feedings. With patients, I frequently pray that in the midst of physical weakness they would know spiritual power, love, hope and forgiveness. I rejoice to see those prayers being answered in you. God Bless and Keep YOU!

    Have a great trip to the Great Smokies soon.
    Dick

    Reply
  • 5. traskman  |  July 24, 2010 at 8:02

    You know I don’t like being on a beach unless it has small smooth stones. I love mountains, trees and shade they provide, birds sounds, places to walk and reflect, the sound of moving waters and places to pray.

    Reply
  • 6. Dick  |  July 25, 2010 at 8:02

    Remember when we found the hugh patch of teaberries to eat when we were hiking at Caledonia? It still amazes me that we found a patch that large.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



