Pray with Your Eyes Open

July 19, 2010 at 8:02 Leave a comment

When I was a teenager I prayed as I walked along the road with my eyes open.  I was treating God like a genie asking to him to end the pain in my life.   My emotions were beginning to get out of control and I was full of all kinds of resentments.  I was trapped in sin using my own ropes.  When we are pain many of us do not trust our heavenly father with our pain.  We try to escape the pain in our own ways but it fails us every time.  However, we continue to use the addiction for many years to kill the pain just for a few minutes or for a couple of hours. We are trusting our addiction rather than God to the kill pain.  So we make our addiction God.  We devoutly obey the god we have chosen as it saps the life out of us.


I still pray with my eyes open but the pain is gone.  God intervened in my life and filled me with his love and began showing me his promises that have become very precious to me.  Early on Jeremiah 29:11-14 was a prayer I prayed for God to hear my prayers and give my future and a hope.  The Jeremiah passage Psalm 42 and Psalm 73 helped me stay together for many years from destroying myself.


Then came Hosea 6:1-3, God was healing and hurt like hell and I was still in pain but these verses told me that my Father has torn me apart but he came later to put oil on my wounds, and healed the torn flesh.  And when I turn to him he will be there for me.   Then Hebrews 13:5-6  God promises to never leave me or forsake me.  These verse help me to understand the Gospel.


Romans 8:28-39 tells me that in all anything in creation cannot separate me from the love of God.  John 1:12-13 theses verses promises I am part of God’s family.   Habakkuk 3:16-19 promised me that no matter how difficult the circumstances God will be there with me.  This passage came to me when I found out I had ALS.  Isaiah 35 shows how God is going to transform the earth and it’s people who are called the redeemed who are walking a highway that leads to Zion the City of God and as enter the city gladness and joy will overtake them, and sorrow and sighing will flee away. . . . . .


8 And a highway will be there;
it will be called the Way of Holiness.
The unclean will not journey on it;
it will be for those who walk in that Way;
wicked fools will not go about on it.
9 No lion will be there,
nor will any ferocious beast get up on it;
they will not be found there.
But only the redeemed will walk there,
10 and the ransomed of the LORD will return.
They will enter Zion with singing;
everlasting joy will crown their heads.
Gladness and joy will overtake them,
and sorrow and sighing will flee away.

Isaiah 35:8-10 (NIV)

Turn to Jesus Christ for he is meek and humble.  Cry out to him to rescue you from yourself and he will enter your life in power.  And your journey will become sweet like honey.  Email me if you go to Christ, paulhtrask@gmail.com.

Entry filed under: Grace.

Plinky & the Gospel ALS Update

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



