Desert

July 5, 2010 at 8:02 3 comments

I’m reading a book called The Bruised Read, by the Puritan Richard Sibbs.  This book is based on Isaiah 42:1-3 and in Matthew he proclaims this passage in Isaiah is fulfilled in Jesus Christ in chapter 12:15-21.  Jesus just healed a man who had a withered hand and after healing this man on the sabbath the Pharisees began plotting how they might kill Jesus their Messiah.

1 “Here is my servant, whom I uphold,
my chosen one in whom I delight;
I will put my Spirit on him
and he will bring justice to the nations.
2 He will not shout or cry out,
or raise his voice in the streets.
3 A bruised reed he will not break,
and a smoldering wick he will not snuff out.
In faithfulness he will bring forth justice;
4 he will not falter or be discouraged
till he establishes justice on earth.
In his law the islands will put their hope.”

Isaiah 42:1-4 (NIV)

God has led me into a desert I been trying to pray for months with little success.  I am still trying to pray.   I haven’t finish a book this year but I was reading the Bible, now hard for me to pick it up.  My pride is reason for this I am parched and my skin is dry.   There is no water about or any food source.  The sun is rising and heat is bearing down on me.  There are no trees or buildings for shade.  My Lord has led me here to teach something.  But I have his promise that he will not break a bruised reed or put out a smoldering wick. Pray for me.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

ALS Alert ALS Update

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. joyinthevalley  |  July 6, 2010 at 8:02

    You are in my prayers! What comfort we can take from His promises!!

    The steps of a man are established by the Lord,
    when he delights in his way; though he fall, he shall not be cast headlong,for the Lord upholds his hand.
    I have been young, and now am old, yet I have not seen the righteous forsaken or his children begging for bread. Psalm 37:23-25

    If you’re interested, well-known book reviewer Tim Challies did a whole series of posts on that very book.
    Here they are:

    http://www.challies.com/reading-classics-together/reading-classics-together-the-bruised-reed-i

    Pam

    Reply
  • 2. Martha  |  July 8, 2010 at 8:02

    Paul, you are in my prayers: that God himself will sustain you body, soul and spirit while you are in this desert place.

    Isaiah 42:16 says of God,
    “I will lead the blind by ways they have not known, along unfamiliar paths I will guide them; I will turn the darkness into light before them and make the rough places smooth. These are the things I will do; I will not forsake them.”

    God is with you, God is for you, His mercies new every morning, His love unceasing, His faithfulness great, His compassions unfailing.

    Reply
  • 3. Eddie Ash  |  July 12, 2010 at 8:02

    I’m available to meet either Tuesday or Thursday around 7:00. Let me know what works for you.
    Eddie Ash

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



