ALS Alert

June 28, 2010 at 8:02 1 comment

We go to Hershey Medical Center on Monday July 5, 2010 to get Botox injections into my saliva glands.  Why?  My drooling is none stop.  My swallow has been affected for more than a year.  The drool is what was regualarly in my throat is now blocked from going down my throat.  When I eat more saliva even more saliva enters my mouth causing food to come out of my mouth evertime I eat.  When I lay on my back you hear a gurgling of the spit in the back of my throat.  If I lean forward drool comes out of my mouth onto what ever I working with its not good to be drooling while stamp collecting, or reading or anything else you don’t want to get wet like my computer.  Its a little embarasing holding a washcloth in my mouth with my teeth when I go to the store.  I wear  bib all day so I do not soil my shirts or pants. 

I was using a patch, pills, and drops into my mouth all at the same time and it did nothing to stop the drooling.  Debbie gives four pills crushed in my feeding through my eating tube eatch morning.  That gives me relief from my drooling for a couple of hours. 

When I get Botoxed it takes the first week for it to start working.  It can also cause swallowing problems for that week.  However, the affects last for 3 months.  I want this to work there are no more options left.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Tiny Joanna in God’s Hands Desert

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Just Me  |  July 1, 2010 at 8:02

    Read this last week. Just checking to see if there was anything new. Thanks for sharing every thing you do one here Paul. I enjoy reading it. I normally check in about once every two weeks, as I do most of the blogs I read.

    I’ll keep checking.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



