The Blackest Hole in the World

June 13, 2010 at 8:02 2 comments

15 For this is what the high and lofty One says–
he who lives forever, whose name is holy:
“I live in a high and holy place,
but also with him who is contrite and lowly in spirit,
to revive the spirit of the lowly
and to revive the heart of the contrite
.

Isaiah 57:15 (NIV)

In the past couple of months I have been living in a ADD haze.  Instead of going to God I am trying distract myself to ignore God; but you can’t ignore God.  Prayer hasn’t passed through my lips only a few times in the past couple of months.  ADD living is distraction city.  Instead of repenting I garden.   Instead bowing to my Father in heaven I clean the house or do some laundry.  Instead of reading the Bible I am not reading anything.

The human heart is the blackest hole in all the world.

When I get like this I pray the same prayer every day.   Father, rescue me from me.  The most discouraged attitude in all the Bible is PRIDE.  Pride and self-interest is where everything went wrong.  We want to be gods and we distrust the faithful One.   We are unthankful and ungracious.  I am leaving my family behind in a hazy self-deception.  Father, have mercy on me.  Pride leaves me self-assured and that is most dangerous place to be.  Pride leaves me loveless.

This year when I read this verse in Isaiah it broke my heart.  I want be there again.  I am longing to be humble again because God bends his knee so he can touch me.  This verse teaches us that humility is the currency of heaven.  When I am proud I am at my worst.   I’m doing all kinds of things to do so I don’t repent.  I fill my days with meaningless activity or no activity.

Pray that our Father will show me his glory to me once again.  That he will show me again how much he loved me at the cross.  Isaiah is telling us that the posture of heaven is humility.  Humility requires a bent back and bent knees with thankful heart.

Father, rescue me from me.

Hanover Valley Presbyterian Church has two services on Sunday.  The first service begins 8:30 AM with Sunday School in between.  The second service begins at 11:00 AM.  Chris Labs was a guest speaker covering for our Pastor Drew Derreth.  I always likes when he preaches.  His sermon was on Psalm 42 listen I thought it Psalm 73.  The two Psalms are very similar.  I suggest reading one after another. During the second service we sang Lord, Most High the next song was an old one written to new music, Alas and Did My Savior Bleed, the music team  sang through the first two verses and the chorus and then we join in.  During the second verse God showed up and brought me to my knees head down and weeping.   I confessed my sins in my blog at 5:30 AM, The Blackest Hole in the World, an again confessed my sins to my Father’s face and asking him rescues me from me. Forgiveness sets me free from the sorrow and from my self-deception.  He has set me on right path.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Check out my Slide Show! The Gospel According to Isaiah the Son of Amoz

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. joyinthevalley  |  June 14, 2010 at 8:02

    This is my prayer too!
    Last Sunday I was so very convicted on the fact that I run to everything to distract myself except the one place where true healing, comfort and joy are found. It is indeed pride that keeps us away. We can pray for each other that the Lord would keep us from our own selves!
    Pam

    Reply
  • 2. Judy Casper  |  June 25, 2010 at 8:02

    Thanks Paul!! I needed this.We really are a broken people.Thank you for all of your post.I so enjoyed reading and feel I learned alot from your writing.Love you

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



