Submitting to one another

May 22, 2010 at 8:02 3 comments

These are foundational passages to me.

21 Submit to one another out of reverence for Christ.  22 Wives, submit to your husbands as to the Lord. 23 For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Savior. 24 Now as the church submits to Christ, so also wives should submit to their husbands in everything.   25 Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her 26 to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word, 27 and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless. 28 In this same way, husbands ought to love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself.

Ephesians 5:21-28 (NIV)

My foundational man verse says: 13 Be on your guard; stand firm in the faith; be men of courage; be strong. 14 Do everything in love.

Another foundational verse says: 15 Drink water from your own cistern, running water from your own well. 16 Should your springs overflow into the streets, your streams of water in the public squares? 17 Let them be yours alone, never to be share with strangers.  18 May your fountain be blessed, and may you rejoice in the wife of your youth. Proverbs 5:15-18  (NIV)  This passage speaks of our faithfulness to our wives and her faithfulness to us in thought, word and deed.

Our wives should take first place in our hearts and above our children.  I let my children know if my family was in danger and I only time to save one person it would be Debbie.   I love my children each one alike and would die for them.  However, they need to know their mother takes first place in my heart.   We are command to submit to one another and that plays out in a family.  Sometimes I submit to my children and also for Debbie.  All of my children are my sisters and brother in Christ.  Whenever you come across a passage how we are suppose to treat people in the Church it also applies to our families as well.

We submit every day of our lives to something or someone.  We submit to people who no more than we do about something we are doing. Debbie learn how to make a new basket yesterday and did what the teacher told her to do.  We submit to the rules of a game.  We submit referees when playing a game.


Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Power of God Adam vs Jesus Christ

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Carol Noren Johnson  |  July 26, 2010 at 8:02

    Paul and Debbie,
    Is it hard for Debbie to assume more roles now? I am thinking that submission to my husband who is disabled mentally is such a new issue for me. What are your thoughts?

    Reply
    • 2. traskman  |  July 26, 2010 at 8:02

      I have a very good friend who has an abusive husband and she will not divorce him. She has been in my small group since she came to Christ. She teaches me what submission is about. He abuses her with words of criticism, judging her and with anger/rage. He has never hit her or abused in any physical way. But he has damage her. She is closer to me than my own sisters.

      We made vows till death do us part. A good and godly man is easier to submit to as he treats his wife like and equal. But I do not think if we bail out of the relationship when it becomes really hard it would make us fools. Christ does not give us that option.

      Reply
  • 3. Carol Noren Johnson  |  July 26, 2010 at 8:02

    Being the helpmate takes on new dementions.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



