ALS Update

May 9, 2010 at 8:02 4 comments

My first sign of this disease was chattering in the fall two years ago. I was at Panera with Brian Long and I remember commenting I never remember chattering before. I grew up in the middle of New York State. In 1977 the water on my night stand froze solid and I did not chatter. This started to affect my speech and now I cannot make an understandable sound. I prefer to use the white board but sometimes I use the talking computer. Now I have a stomach tube and something like Insure is in a bag and gravity is moving into my stomach right now. I prefer this because I don’t have what I am eating all over my face. Also I am not dribbling food out of my mouth due to my weak lower lip. The pain where to tube goes into my stomach is due to good healthy muscle tissue the surgeon cut through. I will concentrate on what I have and not what I have lost.

When we got to GBMC there was a female Filipino and her husband. She had on a neck brace because she no longer had the strength to hold up her head and she was in a wheel chair. She can still talk. As the disease takes its course it takes something away. I will struggle with this disease when it takes away something but I am not going to focus on what I lose but what have. Otherwise I would get depressed. Then I would be no good to anyone.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Habakkuk ASL Udate

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Louis  |  May 10, 2010 at 8:02

    Mr Trask,
    Your courage and faith is an absolute insperation. I can’t imagine what it must be like livng through this. Although pale in comparison, I have been battling with Meniere’s disease for three years now. I sometimes wish I had the absolute faith in God’s plan as you do but I am a textbook example of an Agnostic theist. Hopefully in my lifetime, as long and healthy as I am hoping it will be, the epiphany will come and hit me like a ton of bricks. Till then I will enjoy the beautiful little signs of the “Big Man’s” existance; such as the gorgeous little girl that is on her way to our family through my brother and your lovely daughter, as well as other, everyday, tell-tale signs.
    I certainly hope you keep smiling and keep posting, and I am looking forward to a scrabble game this summer, as well as hearing (or reading via blackboard) some classic “Mr Paul” tidbits of wisdom.
    Take care and Godspeed

    Reply
    • 2. traskman  |  May 11, 2010 at 8:02

      Louis,

      The Hound of Heaven is the Holy Spirit. If God wants you, he will send his hound to find you.

      Paul

      Reply
  • 3. Dick  |  May 10, 2010 at 8:02

    Dear Paul,
    Thank you for letting me (us) know what you are experiencing physically and spiritually. The fact that you see benefits in having the tube are an inspiration to all of to count what we have and not count what we lose in this life. Paul the apostle expressed it this way in Philippians 3:8-11,…I count all to be loss in view of the surpassing value of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them but rubbish in order that I may gain Christ…in order that I may attain to the resurrection of the dead.” I know I am likely applying this out of context but this passage came to mind to me as I considered what you are going through and your response to it.

    God bless you as you are fed from above by an invisible feeding tube.

    Blessings,
    Dick

    Reply
  • 4. Martha  |  May 10, 2010 at 8:02

    Praying that as you walk along this Emmaus Road, you will continue to recognize the Resurrected Christ walking along with you. Though His identity may at times be veiled and obscured by the circumstances, may His words of comfort and hope to you cause your heart to burn within infusing you with abiding peace. Your attitude and determination to “focus not on what you lose but on what you have” turns those things you lose into sacrifices of praise: to His honor and glory, to your blessing, and as a witness and testimony to those around you.
    Continuing to pray for you in this journey of faith as you fight the good fight!
    Your old college friend,
    Martha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



