Pain

April 19, 2010 at 8:02 1 comment

Pain is a friend that tells us something is not right with our bodies.  My back is in so much pain I am moaning.  I took some Advil and waiting for it to take effect. Lepers feel no pain that is why they used to disfigure themselves. Lepers in third world countries cannot live with their families or even in town. They are regarded as unsafe.  C S Lewis said, pain is God’s megaphone to teach us. Pain can be destructive to the inner man and erase all hope.   I wonder what caused Heman the Ezrahite one of the sons of Korah that much pain and misery.

You have taken my companions and loved ones from me;
the darkness is my closest friend.

Psalms 88:18 (NIV)

Obviously his pain internal.   He says is

…whom you remember no more,
who are cut off from your care.

Psalms 88:5 (NIV)

He believed that God had forsaken him.  I remember contemplating suicide and close to cursing God.   The pain from growing up overwhelmed me with waves crashing upon me.  When there nothing wrong with my life.  We did have overwhelming stress in our lifes before Emma and Noah came along.   If you know that kind  pain, the pain of rejection and criticism as it cuts you leaving scares that last a life time.  When you are in the middle of it life it is truly a dark place robbing you of hope.   Isaiah said in 49:4, But, I said, “I have labored to no purpose; I have spent my strength in vain and for nothing.  Yet what is due me is in the Lord’s hand, and my reward is with my God.” Isaiah is old man now looking back over his ministry to Judah and to it’s kings.  His people were getting wickered by each generations.

The only way to flee from inner pain is to believe God’s promises he made to us.

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart

Jer 29:11-13 (NIV)

and in Hebrews 13:5b-6 the writer says,

“Never will I leave you;
never will I forsake you.”

6 So we say with confidence,
“The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid.
What can man do to me?”

Heb 13:5b-6 (NIV)

These two verses kept my head above flooding waters.

I know that it’s not that easy to get rid of that kind pain.  At the time I new the Bible really well and theology even better but they didn’t bring me no comfort at all.  I didn’t think I was that bad a sinner trying stop sinning and live a holy life.  The guilt of living that way is a crushing weight and you can’t get off you no matter what you do.  However, endless discussions with counselors as they move us closer to the Gospel of Jesus Christ.  Our inner pain is deep, varied and has made us look with a warped lens at the world.  We fear people and we are addicted to all kinds of different things to distract us.  My pain was deep and painful and it took years for me to become free and where I could comprehend the promises of God and trust him.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Historical Jesus Habakkuk

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dick  |  April 28, 2010 at 8:02

    Paul, I just read this posting from the 19th. Hopefully your pain has been under better control since then. Thank you for your example of running to the Rock that is higher than any of us. I seldom have pain, but last Thursday (4-22) while I was rollerblading, I fell from an upright moving position as I tried to stop. I landed on the asphalt on my back and my helmeted head snapped back to hit the asphalt too. Fortunately, the Lord protected me from serious injury. For several days it has been painful to cough or blow my nose. However, that is subsiding and I am much better. You will be much better in the Lord’s timing too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



