Another Gem from Isaiah

December 7, 2009 at 8:02 Leave a comment

In chapter 47  Isaiah is an old man and the nation he has preached to for more than 40 years is more wicked than when he started.  Then he says in verse 4: But, I said, “I have labored to no purpose; I have spent my strength in vain and for nothing.  Yet what is due me is in the Lord’s hand, and my reward is with my God.”

Maybe you have worked for many years and now that you are in your 50s they you off and you have looked for a job for a couple years.  You have lost your house and your new car and now your driving a used car.   Maybe you had a job that paid a lot of money and the bottom fell out of you industry and now your making far less money.  Now your trying to find a better job with more income.  God will not judge us about the jobs we held or by how much money we made but how well we have loved others.  Micah in the sixth chapter verse 8, God says, “He has showed  you, O man, what is good.  And what does the Lord require of you?  To act justly and to love mercy and walk humbly with your God.”

If you have worked for many years in your estimation all your efforts came to nothing Isaiah reminds us that our reward is in God’s hands.   All the jobs I ever had I was not a very good employee with a couple of exceptions.  I wasn’t even a very good teacher especially when I finally got  board with the teaching.  One of the reasons for my poor performance is that no job can compare with sharing the Gospel with a world that is lost.  My efforts in my jobs to share Christ was met with hostility or I was not allowed to share my faith in Christ.  When I retired from teaching I was making close to $70, 000.00 a year, although money is necessary in our culture money was never a very good motivator for me.  After the Gospel change me I tried to love everyone I met in every job I had after that.  I never earned any awards or recognition for a job well done.  Now I am dieing slowly and I can say with Isaiah, “Yet what is due me is in the Lord’s hand, and my reward is with my God.”

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Intervention Change You Mind God Will Change Your Life

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



