Our Tongues

November 19, 2009 at 8:02 Leave a comment

Not many of you should presume to be teachers, my brothers, because you know that we who teach will be judged more strictly.  We all stumble in many ways.  If anyone is never at fault in what he says, he is a perfect man, able to keep his whole body in check.

When we put bits into the mouths horses to make them obey us, we can turn the whole animal.  Or take ships as an example.  Although they are so large and are driven by strong winds, they are steered by a very small rudder where ever the pilot want to go.  Likewise the tongue is a small part of the body.  It corrupts the whole person, sets the whole course of his life on fire, and is itself set on fire by hell.

All kinds of animals, birds, reptiles and creatures of the sea are being tamed and have been tamed by man, but no man can  tame the tongue, full of deadly poisin.

With the tongue we praise our Lord and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in God’s likeness.  Out of the same mouth come praise and cursing.  My brothers, this should not be.  Can both fresh waterand salt water flow from the same spring?  My brothers, can a fig tree bear olives, or a grapevine bear figs?  Neither can a solt spring produce fresh water.        James 3:1-12

 I have always been a talker and talkers are more likely to say somthing hurtful and diragatory toward someone or teach somthing in error.  We somtimes judge people and critize them, or we gossip and slander some one we do not care for.     When Isaiah was confronted with the holiness of God, he said, “Woe to me!”  I cried.  “I am ruined!  For I am a man of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the Lord Almighty. Isaiah 6:5

James is confronting Christian brothers and Christian teachers of the Gospel of Christ with how they are teaching and how they interacting with people.  The first sin of the tongue was in the Garden of Eden when God asked him if had eaten from the tree of Good and Evil, Adam then said, “The woman you put here with me–she gave some fruit of that tree, and I ate it.  Genisis 3:12

Adam is cought disobeying the Lord and blame shifts his responsiblity to Eve and acusses God for giving him a faulty woman.  In Adam’s answer he commits two sins, in his heart distrusts God in giving him his wife and then complains about her.

I was asking my Father in Heaven to help me clean up my language when I was in my twenties and early thirties, then later in my 30s I asked God to help me be appropriate in my conversation within groups (I would barge into a conversation and bring in a new idea that no one had been talking about) this alienated people from me for years. In my forties God convicted me about mycritical comments and judging people.  God help me with that and no longer struggle when I enter a group discussion.  For the past few years I have been asking the Lord to deliver me from being critical and judgmental.  He is still helping me with that.  For the past couple of years I have been praying to my Father to deliver me from complaining.

James tells us if we can master our tongues everything else will follow.  We need to guard what comes out of our mouths so that we no longer hurt anyone.

Entry filed under: Grace.

Words from the Lord Dad and I

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



