500th year since John Calvin’s birth

August 20, 2009 at 8:02 Leave a comment

Many of us from the Reformed perspective of Christianity revere John Calvin and I came accross a valuable quote especially for leaders in Christ’s Church.

“We must all be pupils of the Holy scriptures, even to the end; even those, I mean, who are appointed to proclaim the Word.  If we enter the pulpit, it is on this condition, that we learn while teaching others.  I am not speaking here merely that others may hear me; but I too, for my part, must be a pupil of God, otherwise woe is me!  The most accomplished in the Scripture are fools, unless they acknowledge that they have need of God for their schoolmaster all the days their life.”

John Calvin cited in J. H. Merle D’ Aubine’, History of the Reformation in the Time of Calvin, 7:11:23

Found on p. 61 of The Banner of Truth Magazine August/September 2009

Entry filed under: Grace.

Let me rant Where Did Habakkuk Get His Courage From?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



