Let me rant

August 18, 2009 at 8:02 1 comment

I got back from the post office recently.  When I got to the post office a young woman went in before me.  I was third in line.  As soon as the mother set her young daughter down she began to cry.  We waited the baby cried.  One of the tellers suggest the mother pick her child and mother quickly shot back she doesn’t like being confined.  That’s when I went to rage mode.  She got to the teller and the baby is sreeching and my insides is being torn up by the mothers indifference to her own daughter.   As I was waiting the baby wailing.  Finally I got to the teller and was their for about ten minutes and the baby is now inconsolable.  I left in a rage at her and me for being so timid.  No child any child no matter how old, any adult that is that upset should not be ignored.  I taught in Baltimore City for five years and I saw the results of children that were ignored and rarely touched.

I went to the store and when I got home I just wept.  My children were never without touch, I held them often,  I fed them, I bathed them, I played with them, I read to them, I gave the hugs all day long, I repeated told each my children how I loved them.  How in the world could that mother not be concerned about her screaming daughter she was only 3 or 4 months old.  For parents that was a crime. 

Don’t let me see any of my friends do what that woman did to her child I won’t be timid and I will pick you child up and console her or him and chew you out.

Entry filed under: Grace.

The sea and other things 500th year since John Calvin’s birth

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mary Anne  |  August 19, 2009 at 8:02

    I agree 100% I work with your sister Sherry. We see this all the time. My heart breaks for children that are not shown love and compassion. Teaching children how to be adults starts very early. I thank God everyday for the parents I had that taught me how to care for people. and for the love they showed me.
    Mary Anne

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



