Addiction

August 10, 2009 at 8:02 2 comments

 I read a book a few years ago about addictions by Edward T. Welch titled Addictions A Banquet In The Grave: Finding Hope in the power of the Gospel (2001).

I quote from this book quotes that it refers from other sources.

Bound as I was, not with another man’s irons, but by my own iron will.  My will the enemy held, and thence had made a chain for me, and bound me.  For of a froward will, was lust made, and lust served, became custom; and custom not registered became necessity.  By which links, as it were, joined together (whence I called it a chain) a hard bondage held me enthralled.  Augustine, Confessions, Book 8

The woman Folly is loud; she is undisciplined and without knowledge.  She sits at the door of her house, on a seat at the highest point in the city, calling out to those who pass by, who go straight on their way.  “Let all who are simple come in here!”  She says to those who lack judgement.  “Stolen water is sweet;  food eaten in secret is delicious!”  But little do they know that the dead are there, that her guests are in the depths of the grave.  Proverbs 9:13-18

This allagory is about addictions and Augustine describes his addiction he found himself chained to.

If you have known me for long I would have told you I have an addictive personality.  Earlier in my life I thought only I and a few others had addiction problems.  For many years I have known that all of us are addicts trying to sooth the pain in our lives with something else rather than going the our Lord who give us peace, hope, joy and love.

God has freed me from a certain addiction I struggled to end for many years and he has finally given me success for over a year and a half.  I came close to ending it for ten years but I did not succeed.  The Lord be praised.

We can become addicted to food; we eat  too much of it and become fat or we starve ourselves under the dillussion of control.   The Bible uses alcholism to represent all addictions and the quote about prostitution is used to represent addiction to pleasure.  We will get addicted to anything that gives us a momentary pleasure like anger, sex, food, safety, health, greed, control, and lust.  Coveting or lust is the one sin the brakes all the other commandments because we desire first before we sin (Matthew 5:21-30).  When we desire something that is not ours in our minds we murder, steal, and commit adultery.

From a Biblical perspective sex is only permissable with our spouses.  Solo sex, pre-marital sex, or adultry is sin.  In the Bible you are truly married after you consumated your marriage by having sex with each other.   Sex is a relational activity and therefore solo sex is mere selfishness addicting ourselves to pleasure.   The Bible says drinking is good as long as we do not get drunk.  The Bible tells us that wine makes the heart glad however to much of a good thing turns into an addiction.  When we run from one party to another to fill our lives that is sin.  Anything we replace God with to help us with the pain in our lives is sin.

When we feel the pain due to abandonment, abuse, great loss of a loved one, stress, guilt, shame, or fear we need to turn to the Lord where the Gospel can free us from our addictions.  The only place for health, security, peace and prosperity is in trusting Jesus Christ.  The Bible tells us not to get drunk on wine but on the Holy Spirit.  Following the Holy Spirit brings us life, but following anything else brings us death.  So don’t hold onto the way you were abused in your past and look to your true Father who will help you heal your heart.

The death and ressurection of Jesus Christ nulifies injustice done to us or to our people.   Jesus lived a life that we could not live.  Jesus was homeless depending on the charity of others.   He kept the commandments and told only the truth and the establishment persecuted him for it.   Then they murdered him.  On the cross Jesus bore all our sins and then was seperated from his father because he became sin for us so that we might become the righteousness of God.  If we are homeless Jesus was to.  Jesus was betrayed and his friends abandoned him.   Has someone in your family been murdered so was Jesus.   (say to those with fearful hearts, Be strong, do not fear; your God will come, he will come with vengeance and with divine retribution he will come to save you.  Isaiah 35:4)

In the book of  Hebrews the author states that Jesus is greater than angels, greater than Moses and the entire Old Testament.   We might say Jesus is our only super hero.  The Bible in many places tells that our help only comes from the Lord.  When we are in pain turn to the Lord.  Most of the time we need help from others to get rid of our addictions.  Turn to your pastor or good Christian counselor that is Gospel centered and not clinically centered.   Most of my counselors have been Christ friends, however my pastor and several gospel centered counslers added me to become a healed man who knows the Lord. 

“Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear.  Is not your life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes.”   Matthew 6:25

Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.  Philippians 4:6

To the man who please him, God gives wisdom, knowledge and happiness, but the sinner he gives the task of gathering and storing up wealth to hand it over to the one who pleases God.  This too is meaningless, a chasing after the wind.  Ecclesiastes 2:26

Jesus answered, “Everyone who drinks of this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst.  Indeed, the water I give him will become in him a spring of water welling up into internal life.  John 4:13

“I am the bread of life.  He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty. ” John 6:35

Jesus said to her, “I am the ressurection and the life.  He who believes in me will live, even though he dies; and whoever lives and believes in me will never die.  Do you believe this?  John 11:25-26

“I have been crusified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me.  The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.  I do not set aside the grace of God, for if righteousness could be gained through the law, Christ died for nothing!”        Galatians 2:20-21

The entire law is summed up in a single command: “Love you neighbor as yourself.”  I you keep on biting and devouring each other, watch out or you will be destroyed by each other.  So I say, live by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the sinful nature. For the sinful nature desires what is contrary to the Spirit, and the Spirit what is contrary to the sinful nature.  They are in conflict with each other, so that you do not do what you want.  But if you are led by the Spirit, you are not under the law…But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, and self control.  Against such things there is no law.  Galatians 5:16-18; 22-23

At one time we too  were foolish, disobedient, deceived and enslaved by all kinds of passions and pleasures.  We lived in malice and envy, being hated and hating one another.  But  when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared, he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy.  He save us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, who he poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ our Savior, so that  having been justified by his grace, we might become heirs having the hope of eternal life.  Titus 3:3-7

A while ago I began playing Playstation 2 games and after awhile they consumed me.   I was in chains and dining in the grave.  I vowed to God I would not play another game.  And a couple of months later I broke that vow, and then repented and asked God to forgive me and help me to keep that vow.  Now I have another addiction to selfishness and to get praise from people and for them to notice of me using this blog and facebook.  I check my facebook account several times a day and on my blog account I check blog stats several times day to see how many people read my blog and when the numbers are down I feel badly.   Just like the games my blog and facebook keeps me selfish and ignoring my family.  We truly need to be addicted only to God and his will for us.  Therefore I am ending my facebook account. 

Debbie and Abby confinced me to continue my blog account.  But if anyone needs to communicate with me about any of my posts, or if they have a question, or a prayer request leave a comment below my blog or email me at paulhtrask@gmail.com.   You do not need to know me for me for me to pray for you just leave a name.  Leave me an email message.  I am always confidential about what people share with me.  I am more concerned about people’s spiritual struggles, however I will pray for the sick, the infermed, the dieing, and for addicts and those who have been addicts and the abused every where who need someone to talk to who has been abused.  Please email me with your concerns from one addict to another, someone who was abuse to another person who was abused we need each other especially if you go to a Church that frowns on your type of sin.   I am not a counselor but  I am a travelor trying to follow Jesus Christ who saved me from myself and who has given me unending peace and joy.  I am a dieing man and my speech and my breathing is failing me so share your burdens with me and unload your shame with me and I might be able to help you come to know the peace and joy my Savior has given to me.

Entry filed under: Paul Trask's Life.

ALS Nagging Problems Vicitimhood

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Pam  |  August 10, 2009 at 8:02

    Mr Trask,
    You have given me much to think about and I thank you for it.
    I’ll miss your posts but honoring Jesus is most important.
    I’ll continue to keep you in prayer
    Pamela

    Reply
  • 2. traskman  |  August 10, 2009 at 8:02

    Pam, Debbie and Abby convinced to keep open my blog.
    I added a last paragraph to those who are struggling to be faithful to Jesus Christ. Many Christians carry around baggage they cannot escape from and need other mature Christians to come along side and help them out. I am specially concerned for Christians who have been abuse growing up or raped when they became older. I am invisible to most people and think that is a good thing for suffering people who are full of shame and guilt. Pass my blog along to others mabye I can help someone and pray for someone.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



