God’s Creation

July 26, 2009 at 8:02 1 comment

If anyone has noticed both of my blog themes show misty backgrounds.  When was a teenager I lived across the street from Summit Lake and a seasonal swamp.  In the evening I liked to watch the mist rise from the earth because it was  beautiful.   I would praise God.

I was walking through an over grown field one morning as the sun was just climbing over the hill.  A heavy dew clung to everything, and I was making  my way through crab apple trees when I spied a spider web between tall grass and it was wet and the sun enblazoned it with light.  I stopped to look at it and praised God.

I was walking through the same field one afternoon and it was warm.  Everything was in bloom, weeds, wild flowers and clover.  I stood still and listened and what I heard was the millions of wings of insects and bees pollunating the flowers all around me.  I praised God.

The white water lily is my favorite flower.  When was fishing there two types of lillies on the lake, one with large dark green Lily pads with and ugly yellow flowers the other water Lily was found near the shore with small light green lily pads with beautiful white flowers.  I thanked God.

It was early in the morning and sun was still hiding behind the hills and I was collecting various things to go fishing.  I got my fishing pole and my tackle box and went to the barn.  There I picked the net, the motor, the anchor, oars and the battery.  I was carrying these things across the road but you could not see more the 5 feet ahead of yourself due to the thick mist that covered the landscape.  I was following the path to the lake and at the end stood a full grown great blue heron looking over the lake.  I stopped and stared at this chance encounter for several seconds.  The the bird that was as tall as me slowly turned its head and looked back at me with its large yellow eye.  We stared at each other for a couple more seconds then it turned its head unfolded its huge wings and flew off into the mist.  I thank God for that and praised him.

In the summer every time walked out through the kitchen out the backdoor I was met with the smell of dill, peppermint, other herbs and lilac.

I once was eating a pouched salmon in San Francisco restaurant and had an orgasmic gladiatorial experience the first time and only time in my life.   However, I prefer the tasted of an apple, or nuts or maybe grapes.

Once I went fishing and just sat their listening to the flowing water and listening to the chatter of many birds.

Have you ever watched a great blue heron hunting?  Or a hawk come speedily down for the kill leaving its wing prints in the snow?  Or an osprey circling over the water for a tasty treat or maybe a king fisher diving into the water for a fish?

I worked on dairy farms when I was younger.  Most cows a large and gentle.  Milking them with my right ear against her belly feeling the heat from her body.  Holstein cows have very dark blue eyes.  The best thing working with cows is helping them give birth.  I am always amazed when I witness a baby or a animal being born or eggs hatching.

Have you ever noticed the trees limbs reach to the sky praising their Creator.

The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of your hands.  Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they display knowledge.  There is no speech or language where their voice is not heard.  Psalm 19:1-3

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Desperation Love Your Wife

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dick Fisher  |  July 30, 2009 at 8:02

    Paul, thank you for writing so beautifully about growing up next to Summit Lake. Having visited your Dad and your home of your youth brings back to me the good time we had together on that trip. Seeing Cooperstown and hearing you tell some of the history of the area and James Fenimore Cooper was very special to me. I am glad that you have the Summit Lake memories by which to treasure the goodness and beauty of God who sent His Son as His greatest gift to save us.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



