Psalm 73

June 23, 2009 at 8:02 Leave a comment

I you are struggling with a sin in your life or maybe you are not a follower of Jesus Christ and both of you want some one to pray for you email me at paulhtrask@gmail.com.

______________________________________________________________

If you want to leave a response to any of my Blog entries please write them below my blog in the comment box.

___________________________________________________________________

Psalm 73 has been one of my favorite Psalms since high school.   A man named Asaph became jealous of the rich who gained their wealth through fraud, violence and wickedness.

He questions God’s justice.

He questions his own faith in God if his faith is justified.

He was really upset, depressed, angry, and discouraged.

He is listening to the voices in his head that are based on the flesh.  When we listen to the voices in our heads that accuse us of sin or of someone elses sins that put them below us our ugly pride is leading the way.

For all of us as Christians we need to speak the truth to ourselves to see things clearly.   Asaph was not releaved until he remembers the words of the Lord and how he deals with the wicked.   He repents, then he utters,

“Yet I am always with you; you hold me by my right hand.  You guide me with your counsel, and afterword you will take me into glory.   Whom have I in Heaven but you?  And earth has nothing I desire besides you.  My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.”

That is what we need to do when we become trapped in resentment with someone or over some tragic event in our lives.   Our thoughts will lead us away from the Lord.  When we find ourselves complaining about our Redeemer we need to remind our selves about God’s promises and go to the word to recenter ourselves around our Savior.

Memorize some of the God’s promises so when we find ourselves in an evil place in our thoughts the Holy Spirit can push verses to the forefront of our minds and check our evil thoughts.     Maybe you can find a promise for yourself in this list of promises God has given us.

Deuteronomy 31:6  

Psalm 2

Psalm 41     

Psalm 42  

Psalm 86 

Psalm 91         

Psalm 118:6-7  

Isaiah 6

Isaiah 35

Isaiah 57:15

Jeremiah 29:10-14

Hosea 6:1-3

Hosea 14   

Micah 6:8 

Habakkuk 3:16b-19    

Zepheniah 3:16-17    

John 1:12-13  

Romans 5:9-11        

Romans 8:37-39   

Ephesians 1:4-10

Ephesians 2:4-10

Philippians 1:6      

Philippians 2:12-13

Colossians 1:15-20

I Thessalonians 4: 13-18

Titus 3:3-7  

Hebrews 13:5-6                  

I John 1:9 

Jude 24-25

Revelation 21 and 22        

Peace

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

HELP! Jesus gave me Debbie!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



