Truth that Saved Me!

June 5, 2009 at 8:02 1 comment

There are two main passages that have kept me together for years.

Hebrews 13:5 Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said,  “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you. 6 So we say with confidence, “The Lord is my helper; I will not be afraid.  What can man do to me?

and

Romans 8:35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ?  Shall trouble or hardship  or persecution or famine or nakedness or danger or sword? 36 As it is written:  “For your sake we face death all day long; we are considered as sheep to be slaughtered.” 37 No, in all things we are more than conquerors  through him who loved us. 38 For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels not demons, neither the present nor the future, 39 nor height nor depth , nor anything else in all creation,  will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

When I was struggling with depression and acting like a victim these two passages filled me with some hope.  Then the Holy Spirit descended upon me an eradicated three sins in my life.  Then these passages gave great hope to me to overcome my adopted way of dealing with disappointments by acting like a victim.   And the Holy Spirit freed me from that too.

Praise the Lord O my soul!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Enter by the wicket gate Hebrews

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Ellen Highfill  |  June 5, 2009 at 8:02

    Paul,
    I am going to share what you have written with David. He is in a very bad way with depression in Roxbury Treatment Center. He has been cutting, a form of self mutilation, and is self destructive. I believe only God can save him- the drugs and doctors can not. Please pray for him and for us.

    John and I love you Paul and pray for you and your family daily.

    Ellen Highfill

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



