A long obedience in the same direction

May 27, 2009 at 8:02 Leave a comment

Eugene Peterson published a book by this title in 2000 and it is the best description of the the Christian life I have heard. Jesus said the same thing in different way-

Jesus replied, “No one who puts his hand to the plow and looks back is fit for service in the kingdom of God.” Luke 9:62

When you plow you look forward to a natural feature up head to stare at keeping your plowed rows straight, if you look back your plowed rows are crooked.   Jesus is telling us the Christian life is lived by keeping our eyes on our Savior.  Knowing that Jesus loves us enables us to keep his law through the almighty power of the Holy Spirit.   It is through our attempts in keeping the law and failing and repenting is what the Holy Spirit uses to change us into a person more like Jesus.

We cannot live the Christian life alone we need the Church to help us grow.  We need to read the scriptures to know what God’s will is for us and we need to devote ourselves in prayer asking the Father to do what he promises in his word for us.   God is faithful to answer our prayers that focus on what he desires for us.

The Apostle Paul says-  but we do it to get a crown that will last forever.  Therefore I do not run like a man running aimlessly; I do not fight like a man beating the air.  No, I beat my body and make it my slave so that after I have preached to others, I myself will not be disqualified for the prize. I Corinthians 9:16

Paul was no masochist.   He is focused on living his life for Jesus Christ desperately trying to obey his word showing his love for his savior.  He does not want his life to cancel out what he preaches.

I have been trying to live this way all my Christian life failing often, many times with no hope in the Gospel because I did not understand it for many years.   I encourage everyone to prayerfully read Ephesians 10 times and pay attention to the end of chapter 6.

Please follow me as I imperfectly follow Christ and eventually he will give the peace the passes your understanding.

Come quickly Lord Jesus!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Struggle Enter by the wicket gate

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



