Pride

May 10, 2009 at 8:02 1 comment

For this is what the the high and lofty
One says–
he who lives forever, whose
name is holy:
I live in a high and lofty place,
but also with him who is contrite
and lowly in spirit,
to revive the heart of the contrite.

Isaiah 57.15

For months I have not been able to see my sins but for a few to confess.   Therefore I know my pride is over powering my ability to see myself accurately.   I feel like I barren stream with its bed cracking under a  hot summer sun.  So please pray that God will humble and break me, that I might know his mercy.    Hosea 6:1-3

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

The Wind will Help You Abby is Officially an Alumnous

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Dick Fisher  |  May 16, 2009 at 8:02

    Paul,
    Someone has said that we know only 1% of our sins. Therefore we must ask for forgiveness for our sins of commission and omission. This blanket confession covers all sin. However,it is good to repent of specific sins specifically which shows the power of the gospel and God’s Spirit in our lives. Augustine said in effect that, “Even in my repenting there is that which needs to be repented of.” The Westminster Confession of Faith is very helpful on the issues you raise. See Chapters 19 and 20 on Perserverance and Assurance of the saints. See especially Chapter 20 paragraph 4, for the means whereby God saves Christians, “from utter despair.”

    Dick

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed



